Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Should you stay or should you go.

Should you stay or should you go.

Old Mar 16th 2003, 1:55 am
BE Forum Addict

karawara88 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Should you stay or should you go.

I am new to this board and have read with interest many of the posts, so decided to add my own experience of migrating to Perth.

I first emigrated with my partner (now ex) three and a half years ago, she was an IT project manager earning £30k a year, I was an IT contractor earning £40 an hour. !!

We both had new cars, mine was a peugeot 406 coupe top of the range, we had two houses (which we rented out). So we had a very good lifestyle. Sorry if this is boring but I need to paint the picture.

Emigrated to Perth in July of 1999. On bad advice we rented a place in South Perth paying far too much rent. Work situation was not brilliant, the ex managed to get project manager role at $60 an hour, exceptional for Perth. I was offered positions paying $25 which was average for Perth.

BUT

I wanted to be earning stupid money like UK, I wanted stupid cars like UK. We arrived in July it was wet, rainy and miserable, UK was hot and sunny (well for UK). Over the next 3 months I became depressed I hated the place. I started reading BBs similiar to these, started reading the negative comments and that made me more negative about OZ, I hated it with a passion.

The situation got so bad that I emailed a place that I had worked in UK asking for contracts, on the Friday I received an email offering 3 month contract paying £40 an hour if I could start on Monday. I was back in UK on the Sunday. !! Within a week I thought what the hell am I doing sat on the thelwall viaduct in yet another traffic jam with it chucking down with rain, stressed out.