Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Renting accommodation from abroad - how to avoid con men?

Renting accommodation from abroad - how to avoid con men?

Old Mar 16th 2010, 6:03 am
Just Joined

Gargoyle is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Renting accommodation from abroad - how to avoid con men?

Hello,

I am moving to Australia soon (in May), so I started to look for short/long term accommodation in Sydney. After I posted my advertisement on a flatmate search website I got a couple of responses within 15 minutes or so. All of them were obvious fraud.

Now, I keep getting some responses that don't look suspicious on the first glance. But maybe I fail to see it because I am not experienced in Australian rental market. I am afraid of being conned and on my arrival day to find out that I both lost my money and don't have accommodation.

So, is anybody here has the experience of renting a room in Australia from abroad? What is the standard procedure? How do I sign the contract, lodge bond money, etc? How can I be sure that the person who lets a room is genuine? What question should I ask before I agree to rent?

Many thanks in advance.

Last edited by Gargoyle; Mar 16th 2010 at 6:06 am.
Old Mar 16th 2010, 6:08 am
BE Forum Addict

ozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Renting accommodation from abroad - how to avoid con men?

Originally Posted by Gargoyle
I am afraid of being conned and on my arrival day to find out that I both lost my money and don't have accommodation.