Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Recession concerns

Recession concerns

Old Feb 27th 2009, 12:00 pm
Just Joined

janrod is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Recession concerns

I am an IT professional in dotnet with a PR. My skill is in Modl, CSL. I had few queries.
With the slowdown in economy, is it the right time to move? We might move by May this year.
Are there specific months that we need to avoid as there are less jobs in the markets?
Sydney or Melbourne. Where to move? When I researched on the jobsites, the number of IT jobs were more in Sydney than in Melbourne & other cities.

I have heard that it is difficult to find a place to live & lot of commuting will be required if I choose Sydney.

Is it true that a newcomer has to intially struggle a couple of months for a breakthrough? I am o.k to keep trying.

Can any body help me find some reasonable accommodation in Melbourne?
Old Feb 27th 2009, 12:10 pm
BE Enthusiast

Sherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of lightSherro is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Recession concerns

IT is a tough one at the moment mate, the contract market has all but died so many contractors are having to take perm roles to stay employed. With perm roles companies have the pick of the bunch so be well groomed and practice your interview skills.

for somewhere to live www.realestate.com.au is the way to go for melbourne and www.domain.com.au for sydney bayside is great, St Kilda, Port melbourne, South Melbourne, as close to city and st kilda road where lots of head offices are located.