Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Pronunciation and UK vs. Aus Grammar

Pronunciation and UK vs. Aus Grammar

Old Apr 25th 2008, 7:56 pm
Happily living in Tsv,Qld

Simon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to allSimon.and.Kate is a name known to all
Question Pronunciation and UK vs. Aus Grammar

I’m a bit embarrassed to ask this, but I’m going to anyway, because asking now might save some embarrassment when we get there.

Firstly, I’m ashamed of my spelling and reading ability as it is in the UK already. It can’t be that bad as I’m a teacher and had to pass an English test before I could teach, and luckily I teach ICT, so have a PC at hand all the time to check spellings etc. But I’ve always been a weak reader.

I’ve visited Australia 4 times since 2001 and have seen quite a bit of the East cost. We hope to move for good this August.

I’m a bit worried about the pronunciation of Australian names etc, and when reading some, on here for example, I have no idea how to say them.

We’re having a house built, and I knew I had to ask something when I realised I’m not even sure how to pronounce my own address!

Is this just my English Grammar letting me down, or are there any ‘new rules’ I need to learn to get Aussie names right?

How have others got on? Has anyone else been saying anything incorrectly and had to be corrected by a local? Any stories to share? All tips/pointers gladly received.

Oh, and our address: It’s Bohle Plains. I’m currently pronouncing it “bowl-e”, is that right?
Old Apr 25th 2008, 9:12 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace