Reload this Page >

Oz-UK, Oz backward, Canada

Wikiposts

Oz-UK, Oz backward, Canada

Old Aug 24th 2003, 2:02 am
Forum Regular

davidw is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Oz-UK, Oz backward, Canada

I've read and enjoyed the wide range of posts in this forum. Running through the disagreements, there seems to be fairly ood agreement that one is exchanging career prospects (UK) for lifestyle (Oz..or NZ) More controversially, Oz is often decried as backward, 20 years behind the Uk, which may be true. To put this in perspective, could I pose this question? Would the same comparisons be true between the UK and Canada or would Canada be considered more advanced and cosmopolitan, with obviously more favourable proximity to USA and Europe. I ask because I studied in Canada two decades ago and now live in Perth. I can see Canada seems more sophisticated, but per capita income and HDI ratings are very similar.

Thanks very much

David
Old Aug 24th 2003, 8:21 am
BE Enthusiast

salonit is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Oz-UK, Oz backward, Canada

yes it may be the case...........

lots of us want to come to Perth for the lifestyle - well i certainly do ! I accept it may be seen as backward but that it exactly what I want ! I am now looking at the different areas to live ..any ideas? - have noticed that near beach near Town is exp ( as expected ) any up and coming areas in perth that u may know about? still searching.....
Old Aug 24th 2003, 8:22 am
BE Enthusiast

salonit is on a distinguished road

forgot to mention ( thats why i started replying to u) I originally was going to apply for Canada but chose Perth due to weather and the fact that I would havr to do more exams in Canada!
Old Aug 24th 2003, 8:29 am
Forum Regular

Daltrey is an unknown quantity at this point
Default NZ,OZ,Canada

I always thought it was NZ that was considered
20-25 years behind everyone hadn't really heard that
of OZ.

MY wife's from NZ,she has lived in Japan,Oz,NZ,USA,