Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Nursing in Australia

Nursing in Australia

Old Feb 26th 2012, 3:57 pm
Just Joined

sweetpea8610 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Nursing in Australia

I am currently studying a degree in adult nursing in Scotland. I finish in August and my graduation is in November. I have been reading lots of posts about the best way to gain a nursing job in Australia so please forgive for bringing it up again.

Anyway, I've been looking at many post-grad nursing programmes in Australia, eg Ramsey Health Care, Queensland Government. I did have my heart on gaining a place on one of these programmes but what I can gather from previous posts is that it's very competitive and that many new-grad nurses in Australia find it difficult in gaining a place on these programmes. How true is this and would it be extremely lucky if a new-grad from the UK gained a position on one of these programmes?

Also, would it be much better to gain a years experience before coming over? The job situation in the UK is terrible at the moment and many of my friends have had to wait over a year before gaining their first post as a nurse and this is one of the reasons for me wanting to apply for post-grad programmes in Australia. Any advice would be appreciated. Thank you in advance
Old Feb 26th 2012, 7:21 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

eddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond reputeeddie007 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Nursing in Australia

Originally Posted by sweetpea8610