Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

My Head Hurts.....Where do we go from here??

My Head Hurts.....Where do we go from here??

Old Jul 5th 2005, 10:19 pm
Just Joined

Scary is an unknown quantity at this point
Question My Head Hurts.....Where do we go from here??

Hi All!

OK, this is only my second ever topic so sorry if i'm doing it wrong!

Not sure were to start really, so many questions.

Right we (hubby and me) are hoping to go to Oz via a 457 temporary visa and hopefully apply to PR when we are there. I know from reading on here that there are some downsides to doing it this way but for us it is the right way, so that sorted i have loads of questions still!

I have been in touch with the local health authority to where we want to be (Frankston Vic) and spoken to the nurse manager and the "visa man" and they are fairly sure that they would be happy to sponsor me, i am an a+e nurse by the way. So we would like to be in Australia in January, but notsure about the timing of everything.

We have some stuff here which we need to let come to a conclusion before we actually do anything further, so will probably be able to start the ball rolling at the begining of sept.

I need to give 1 months notice at work
Hubby needs to give 3 months
We have a house here which we want to sell

The people i spoke to at the hospital said that i need to send a CV when we are ready to go ahead and then hopefully they will offer me a post, then they will instruct the "visa man" to start our visa process, once he has done that and we have done the bits from our end, ie forms police checks, etc hopefully they will grant the visa and we can go.