Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Moving to Toowoomba- any advice please?

Moving to Toowoomba- any advice please?

Old Mar 26th 2014, 10:54 pm
Just Joined

semicharmed13 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Toowoomba- any advice please?

Hey guys,
I am kinda new here, I originally frequented to USA Expat page however it looks like I might be moving to Toowoomba (from the US...and before that I was in the UK...nevermind ).
A bit about me, I was a Dentist in the UK, moved to the US because my OH got himself a job in the US (this however involved me re-doing my dental degree to calibrate with the American system) I got into Dental school, got told it would be upto 300K$ for tuition, I said heck no! and decided that I am going to follow my dream and work in Oz for a bit. Well it happens that I have been offered a job in Toowoomba (pending AHRPA registration etc) and will be coming on a WHV which they haveoffering to convertapply for to a 457 once I get there, as it is quicker for me to start work with a WHV rather than waiting for a 457 to be processed.
I will be moving by myself my husband is sticking around in the US for a bit longer (~9 months)...Aaaaanyway I wanted to know:
1. What do I need to do first when I get there? Since Im moving alone it is all a bit daunting. I aim to look for house share/flat share before I leave so that I will have something to look into when I get there.
2. What mobile phone network should I choose that gets best coverage in that area? Should I get one as soon as I land in Brisbane or am I wiser to get it from a phone shop in Toowoomba?
3. How do I go about getting a driving license? (I have a full UK DL...and a US one :/)
4. Would be smarter to buy a car in Brisbane? Would I need a car in Toowoomba or is public transport in Toowoomba sufficient?