Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Moving to Tasmania

Moving to Tasmania

Old Mar 23rd 2011, 10:08 am
Just Joined

coxsp is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Moving to Tasmania

This thread is an extension of...Feel like an imposter. Apologies to those who have read both, but after some good advice, the new title is more appropriate.

I'm about to make the jump back to Australia. I've moved to London about 13 years ago from Adelaide/Darwin/Canberra/Mackay/Brisbane/Sydney. My family moved around a lot.

I will be moving my family to Geeveston from London. My wife is a Chiropodist and I am a crude oil trader. My wife shouldn't have a problem with work, but I'll probably need to re-tool to be of any use.

I have a few questions that I hope fellow members might be able to assist with:
- What were the biggest shocks when moving to Tassie? I've have visited so I understand it's isolated, but visiting is very different to living.
- Was there anything you regret not bringing? Some members have already mentioned bringing everything as anything is hard and costly to get in Tassie...from power tools to books. I guess this includes electrical appliances, cookware, linen?
- Any advice on recruitment agenices? I've yet to start this process, but guess that I should get a wiggle on.
- Any personal experiences moving from such a sprawling metropolis to the sprawling wilderness.

Appreciate all the comments so far. Very useful.
Old Mar 23rd 2011, 11:12 am
Random Member

Peepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to beholdPeepster is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Moving to Tasmania