Migrating as a plumber

Migrating as a plumber

Old Jan 9th 2007, 12:51 pm
Forum Regular

carolk is on a distinguished road
Default Migrating as a plumber

Hello All
I'm new to this so go easy!

I am Australian and my husband is Irish and we plan to emigrate back to Melbourne (we are currently in Ireland). The only big issue we have is the fact he is a plumber. He has been self-employed for over 5 years now. He has completed all the coursework for his NVQ but never did all the paperwork, so he isn't qualified.

We are concerned he is going to struggle to 1) get registered and/ or licensed, and 2) get work.

It sounds hard even if he was qualified.

Has anyone any advice on this subject?

We will apply for a spouse visa, so we don't have to have anything done for the visa side of things. But we want to have things even a little under control before we get there. We want to know if he has any chance of getting work otherwise there's no point paying all that money for a visa.

What process should we undertake in getting him registered in Victoria as a plumber (I know he can't get licensed until he gets there - he'll probably need a skills test) before we go? And any tips for finding work?

I know plumbing will be so much different in Australia compared to here, and he will need to learn the local way of doing things. Any suggestions? Is there any info online that we could study up on?

Any idea of wages? Would he have to go back to being an apprentice?

It's very stressful - it's the only thing putting a cloud over our plans.

Any suggestions or advice is appreciated!!
Thanks.
Old Jan 9th 2007, 9:00 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace