Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Medicare Cover versus Private health Insurance

Medicare Cover versus Private health Insurance

Old Jul 21st 2009, 2:25 am
Just Joined

brightonbee is an unknown quantity at this point
Post Medicare Cover versus Private health Insurance

Help please - I'm on a two year 457. My org are pressing me to take out health insurance although as a UK resident, I have a medicare card [ reciprocal agreement ]. I'm going back to UK in OCt where I when I will visit my dentist and have blood checks.

I have salary packaging but as a healthcare worker, I do not get a great slaary, live in Melbourne where rents are atronomical, and of course dont get any other tax allowances.

I'm in my 50ies [ yes, I did get a sponsored visa!!!!] ans worry about becoming unwell but seem to be Ok at the moment .

Advice please?????
Old Jul 21st 2009, 2:34 am
ABCDiamond

Default Re: Medicare Cover versus Private health Insurance

Isn't it part of the 457 visa conditions that you have health insurance ?

Old Jul 21st 2009, 2:56 am
Just Joined

brightonbee is an unknown quantity at this point

Originally Posted by ABCDiamond
I can't seem to find that information - all I can find is info on reciprochal health arrangements - know of a good insurer wherby you get immeditae cover
Old Jul 21st 2009, 3:05 am
Social Grenade Thrower

paddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond reputepaddyo has a reputation beyond repute

Originally Posted by brightonbee
I can't seem to find that information - all I can find is info on reciprochal health arrangements - know of a good insurer wherby you get immeditae cover