Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Has Anyone Been Refused Visa For Being Overweight?

Has Anyone Been Refused Visa For Being Overweight?

Old Nov 23rd 2004, 6:34 pm
Just Joined

Saintly1 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Has Anyone Been Refused Visa For Being Overweight?

Hi All,

This is my first time at posting on here. I've read the threads regularly with great interest and amusement.

My hubby is being sponsored by an Australian company who want him to work for them in Perth. The visa application for all of us has been lodged and today we went for our medicals. The only thing that the Dr. said was that both my hubby and I are overweight (shame on us) and he didn't know what sort of view the DIMIA would take on this. Can anyone tell me if this could be a reason for refusing our applications?

The medicals themselves were fine, and much to the relief of my youngest daughter, neither of my kids had the blood tests, (which was just as well as my youngest had said that there was no way anyone was sticking something in Her arm and taking Her blood). Unfortunately, it wasn't that simple for my hubby, who is a complete wus when it comes to needles and had to lie down on the bed while the Dr. tried to get a blood sample, something that took more than 30mins to achieve and countless puncture holes in his arms, wrists and hands. At one point my youngest asked, 'Why is the Dr. holding daddys legs over his shoulders?' hubbys legs over the Drs shoulders i hasten to add (hubbys not that supple). Eventually, a very pale hubby emerged from behind the curtain, little round plasters stuck all over him. I did suggest we had a go at dot to dot on him, but this didn't go down very well.

Anyway, I'd appreciate any comments on this.

Cheers
Saintly1
Old Nov 23rd 2004, 6:49 pm
Cup of tea, Father?