Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Hand Tools, Power Tools etc

Hand Tools, Power Tools etc

Old Sep 26th 2008, 6:55 pm
Forum Regular

originalfunster has a spectacular aura aboutoriginalfunster has a spectacular aura aboutoriginalfunster has a spectacular aura about
Default Hand Tools, Power Tools etc

Hi All,

Hoping someone thats out there already can help with this one?

I am a carpenter by trade, but work for myself doing loft conversions and extensions. As such I have a huge selection of (mostly expensive good quality) tools.
Being a site carpenter for many years, most if not all of my power tools are 110v. So my questions are:
Can I use my 110v tools in Oz with a transformer? or will they not let me use the transformer on site? I would hate to have to sell these here and buy new again in Oz as even good quality tools are not worth a lot 2nd hand.

Also I have been told that if any hand tool has rust on it they will not allow you to bring them in without them be treated at a great expense. any one heard this before? my only concern is, if I have been working outside in the rain, I put my hammer in the van at the end of the day, and in the morning it will have rust on it. So I assume that after spending approx 10 weeks in a cold steel container, crossing the ocean and not being used they will be in a similar condition, and I will face a huge fee for treating them.

Thanks
Old Sep 27th 2008, 1:04 am
Worongary

steve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond reputesteve`o has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Hand Tools, Power Tools etc

Originally Posted by originalfunster
Hi All,