British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   Australia (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/)
-   -   Good places in west Melbourne (https://britishexpats.com/forum/australia-54/good-places-west-melbourne-748984/)

airlineguy1980 Feb 19th 2012 9:58 am

Good places in west Melbourne

Hello,
We are new PR. Moving in with a 3 yr old kid.i am an aircraft engineer so my work area most probably in Avalon or Melbourne international airports. Could any body suggest a safe area in and around these two airports.sunbury? Or roxburgh ? Any ideas about house prices and schools and safety.

Thanks in adv for any help or tips

Buzzy--Bee Feb 20th 2012 12:19 am

Re: Good places in west Melbourne

Sunbury and Roxburgh are both near Tullamarine and are both "ok" areas. Also consider Greenvale and Craigieburn where there is a lot of new development.

Considering their proximity to the CBD, all these areas are very reasonable.

BB

bcworld Feb 20th 2012 5:21 am

Originally Posted by airlineguy1980 (Post 9909846)
Hello,
We are new PR. Moving in with a 3 yr old kid.i am an aircraft engineer so my work area most probably in Avalon or Melbourne international airports. Could any body suggest a safe area in and around these two airports.sunbury? Or roxburgh ? Any ideas about house prices and schools and safety.

Do you have a job lined up?

Qantas released its results update last week and seems likely to ditch one of its maintenance facilities out of Tullamarine, Avalon or Brisbane...at a guess I'd imagine one of the Victorian sites.

ozzieeagle Feb 20th 2012 5:54 am

Diggers Rest would be the pick of them. Craigeburn is not the best at night time around the town and Roxburgh Park could well be a no no in the Future.