Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Going crazy...what would you do?

Going crazy...what would you do?

Old Oct 19th 2004, 1:47 pm
Just Joined

Nutty is an unknown quantity at this point
Unhappy Going crazy...what would you do?

Hi!

This is the first time I've posted and the first time I've even come across this website. I'm having a huge dilemma, I've been going around in circles in my head now for months and months on end, it's making me so miserable I feel like bursting into tears practically every day. Long story short - I always intended to migrate to Oz from about 5 years ago. I studied for a year at an Australian uni and my sister and nieces are Australian citizens. I only returned to the UK in order to get a couple years work experience so that I could apply for my residency in Oz.

I've just about got those two years now. The only problem is that I've met somebody and fallen in love but he doesn't not want to live in Australia. I thought I'd kinda comes to terms with this, but the more and more I think about it the more it gets me down. He's said that he 'may' consider it at some point in the future but that if I am to stay with him (and that really means if we get married) then I have to envisage the worse case scenario which is that we never go.

I've started to kinda resent the fact that I'm supposed to accept that unless he has a sudden change of heart, I am expected to be 101% happy about living in the UK (I hate it here, apart from the fact that my parents are still here). It all seems to be on his terms - if he decides in the future that he might like to try it then ok, but otherwise I am to go through the next 40,50,60 years assuming we will never go. And deep down I don't think he will ever want to go.