Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Getting in to mining

Getting in to mining

Old Sep 29th 2009, 11:23 pm
BE Enthusiast

sheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to allsheli0508 is a name known to all
Default Getting in to mining

Wondered if anyone can offer some advice...

I'm a mechancial fitter and have been over here since March as a PR. We were originally headed up to Brisbane but got sidetracked with a job offer in Melbourne, which is where we still are.

Anyway, when we where talking about Brisbane, Townsville etc I was looking at entry level mining. I don't have any 'mining' experience though I have plenty of confined spaces experience and over 20 years heavy engineering experience.

Don't get me wrong Melbourne's great but I didn't come all the way out here to do the same thing day as I did back in the UK.

So my question is - would I be better relocating and then looking for work? I'm lucky enough that my OH hasn't any issues relocating. We were thinking Townville but I just wondered if anyone has been through a similar thing or has any thing to offer.... open to ideas!!!!

Is it worth paying one of these minong recruitment agencies to locate you work??

Also, is it worth doing the mining course or do companies prefer that you do theirs... ?

mitch
Old Sep 30th 2009, 5:46 am
Where traffic lights rule