Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

First time tax return - foreign income

First time tax return - foreign income

Old Jul 13th 2020, 1:53 am
Just Joined

davey6693 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default First time tax return - foreign income

Sorry for the boring tax question here. Wondered how you're supposed to enter "foreign employment income" (if at all) for the period before you got to Australia, that falls within the period July 1st to when you left your old country.
In my case, I got here Oct 5th, so I'm a 2019/2020 tax resident in Aus. I was still being paid in my old job before we sold up and left Canada. Do I need to report the income earned back there on the Aus tax return?
Old Jul 13th 2020, 4:58 am
BE Forum Addict

NickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond reputeNickyC has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: First time tax return - foreign income

You only need to declare income received from the time you became a tax resident in Australia.

So you don't need to declare anything earned before the day you arrived.
Old Jul 13th 2020, 5:27 am
Just Joined

Cheers Nicky, that's very helpful to know.
Old Jul 18th 2020, 11:58 pm
Migration Agent

Location: Offices in Melbourne, Brisbane, Perth, Geelong (Australia), and Southampton (UK)