Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Emigrating : Buying a business

Emigrating : Buying a business

Old Mar 31st 2005, 6:15 pm
Just Joined

tunnyx is on a distinguished road
Default Emigrating : Buying a business

Hi all. My first post and early days in our potential emigration!

My family and I have decided that a move to Oz is the way to go. Were tired of working to pay the bills, having no opportunity to improve our quality of life coz of the stupid UK housing market and never actually seeming to get anywhere at all!

I'm an AAT qualified accountant, with strong IT skills, and my wife is a chef. As we are both undecided about our careers so far, we thought that buying a business over in Oz would be a great way to have a fresh start.

Does anyone have any practical advice on buying a business within Oz. We havent made our minds up on the type of business, but being in the accountancy industry allows me to spot a potentially good business and what to ignore.

We want something that suits both of us, and we are tempted by retail or wholesale, although not yet sure which particular market would be good to get into.

Basically, my questions are:

1) How 'easy' is it to buy a business in Oz when you are migrating?
2) Is business finance fairly straightforward or can this be difficult to get?
3) Are there any reputable companies out there who deal with business sales?
4) Are there particular banks that are better to deal with from a business point of view?

Thanks for any answers in advance
Old Mar 31st 2005, 6:54 pm
I am not the Messiah!