Reload this Page >

dreaming of a better life in Oz

dreaming of a better life in Oz

Old Jul 15th 2011, 8:19 pm
Just Joined

Im_a_dreamer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default dreaming of a better life in Oz

Hi Everyone,

I have just joined and am basically looking for some feedback on Brits who have been brave enough to make the move to Oz.. Have you stayed? is there a better work/life balance etc? cost of living? schools, family life in general?

To give you a little bit of background, my husband and I have been talking about moving to Australia for at least 12 years, we are both 37 now. At the time we didn't particulary want to leave friends and immediate family and were afraid of losing eveything we have here, work, home etc !! basically we were never brave enough to take the leap!!
Anyway we tried to just get on with things and continued working, moving home and having a family, we have a 7 year old and a 21 month old baby, however those old feeling are creeping back and I really want us to consider a move before we get any older and before the kids get any older.
I feel very fortunate for everything we have worked for and we have a nice home, family, friends etc but just feel that something is missing. We would still miss them but I feel that our priorities have changed and I want a better life for myself, husband and 2 sons.
The british weather is awful, the kids love being outside playing but it is not always possible because the weather is so cold and wet !!
I know if we did make the move we would still have to work, pay bills, school runs etc, cost of living much the same, but just feel we could have a better family life for the kids who love being outside all the time..
Old Jul 15th 2011, 8:23 pm
BE Enthusiast