Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Do phones from England work in Oz?

Do phones from England work in Oz?

Old Mar 20th 2010, 8:48 pm
  #1  
Forum Regular
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 35
Danaamatrix has a brilliant futureDanaamatrix has a brilliant futureDanaamatrix has a brilliant futureDanaamatrix has a brilliant futureDanaamatrix has a brilliant futureDanaamatrix has a brilliant futureDanaamatrix has a brilliant futureDanaamatrix has a brilliant future
Default Do phones from England work in Oz?

Do phones from England work in Oz?

Rubbish question I know!
Danaamatrix is offline  
Old Mar 20th 2010, 9:47 pm
  #2  
JAJ
Retired
 
JAJ's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 34,649
JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Landline/cordless : no.

Mobile, usually yes provided it is "unlocked".
JAJ is offline  
Old Mar 20th 2010, 10:22 pm
  #3  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Whinging Aussie
Posts: 523
James516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

You will also need to hold them upside down - the speaker and microphone are the other way around in Oz.
James516 is offline  
Old Mar 20th 2010, 11:29 pm
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Jan 2009
Location: Woodvale, WA
Posts: 1,674
Kingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to beholdKingseat is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

My Scottish mobile worked!
Kingseat is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 12:38 am
  #5  
BE Enthusiast
 
77hil's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2009
Location: Sydney
Posts: 313
77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light77hil is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Yes, as long as they are unlocked.
77hil is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 1:55 am
  #6  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jan 2008
Posts: 165
Cant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really niceCant rain all the time2 is just really nice
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by JAJ View Post
Landline/cordless : no.

Mobile, usually yes provided it is "unlocked".
Our cordless landline phone works and has been said, get your mobile unlocked before you leave.
Cant rain all the time2 is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 2:52 am
  #7  
BAY
BE Enthusiast
 
BAY's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 743
BAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to beholdBAY is a splendid one to behold
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by Danaamatrix View Post
Do phones from England work in Oz?

Rubbish question I know!
You're mobile will still work if, even if it hasn't been unlocked.

The point about it being locked to a network is that when in Oz it will be locked to an Oz network (UK mobile networks will have agreements with Oz networks) that will charge you sky high rates as a tourist from the UK.

So yes get your phone unlocked before you come to Oz, then you can sign up to any Oz network at normal rates.
BAY is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 3:06 am
  #8  
BE Enthusiast
 
charlie5's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 376
charlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to all
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by JAJ View Post
Landline/cordless : no.

Mobile, usually yes provided it is "unlocked".
My landline and cordess phones work beautifuly!

Charlie
charlie5 is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 6:37 am
  #9  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
quoll's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2007
Location: Canberra
Posts: 8,330
quoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond reputequoll has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by charlie5 View Post
My landline and cordess phones work beautifuly!

Charlie
HOwever according to the regulations governing the import of telecommunication devices into Australia, unless they have the Aus tick of approval then they are illegal
http://www.acma.gov.au/WEB/STANDARD/pc=PC_1784 scroll down to cordless phones.
quoll is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 6:43 am
  #10  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 91
DoubleCabbage will become famous soon enoughDoubleCabbage will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by James516 View Post
You will also need to hold them upside down - the speaker and microphone are the other way around in Oz.
..because of the Southern hemisphere versus Northern hemisphere factor, right? And what happens when lying down? Will it work then?
DoubleCabbage is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 7:02 am
  #11  
HMP Queensland
 
Pollyana's Avatar
 
Joined: Dec 2002
Location: Keep true friends and puppets close, trust no-one else...
Posts: 93,320
Pollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond reputePollyana has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by DoubleCabbage View Post
..because of the Southern hemisphere versus Northern hemisphere factor, right? And what happens when lying down? Will it work then?
Only if you are on the equator
Pollyana is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 7:06 am
  #12  
Forum Regular
 
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 91
DoubleCabbage will become famous soon enoughDoubleCabbage will become famous soon enough
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by Pollyana View Post
Only if you are on the equator
Wouldn't the speaker and microphone have to be stacked on top of each other then?
DoubleCabbage is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 8:15 am
  #13  
BE Enthusiast
 
charlie5's Avatar
 
Joined: May 2008
Location: NSW, Australia
Posts: 376
charlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to allcharlie5 is a name known to all
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by quoll View Post
HOwever according to the regulations governing the import of telecommunication devices into Australia, unless they have the Aus tick of approval then they are illegal
http://www.acma.gov.au/WEB/STANDARD/pc=PC_1784 scroll down to cordless phones.
Oh dear, better throw them away then!

Charlie
charlie5 is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 9:13 am
  #14  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Location: Whinging Aussie
Posts: 523
James516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud ofJames516 has much to be proud of
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by quoll View Post
HOwever according to the regulations governing the import of telecommunication devices into Australia, unless they have the Aus tick of approval then they are illegal
http://www.acma.gov.au/WEB/STANDARD/pc=PC_1784 scroll down to cordless phones.
Yes, this is because Australia's cordless phone industry is important to our economy, and we can't risk foreign phone diseases being brought into the country.
James516 is offline  
Old Mar 21st 2010, 6:45 pm
  #15  
JAJ
Retired
 
JAJ's Avatar
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 34,649
JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Do phones from England work in Oz?

Originally Posted by James516 View Post
Yes, this is because Australia's cordless phone industry is important to our economy, and we can't risk foreign phone diseases being brought into the country.
It may be to do with the radio frequency reserved for cordless phones not being the same.
JAJ is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.