Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > Australia
Reload this Page >

Australian Gardening Thread

Australian Gardening Thread

Old Nov 19th 2009, 9:54 am
BE Forum Addict

RenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond reputeRenShen has a reputation beyond repute
Default Australian Gardening Thread

Hello,

I am relatively new to Australia and having settled into the house I now feel ready to tackle the garden. The only thing is I know nothing about gardening, and even less about gardening in Australia.

So, I thought I would start this thread to hopefully help other people in my position and maybe get advice from experienced Australian gardeners.

So, here are my questions:

I have established palms but no colour. I want to choose plants that require little watering but give good colour. I bought a couple of Gardenias but they are not doing very well in pots so I thought I might plant them into the ground. Other than that, I need a bit of help please selecting plants.

There are loads of ants in the patio area. Going to Bunnings tomorrow so would like some advice on what ant killer will give me the best results for outside.

I would like to buy a fruit tree, maybe a lemon tree but it would have to grow in a pot. Would this be OK? The space where I want to put it is in full sunlight. Would a different tree be better?

I live on the Gold Coast in Helensvale. Could anybody recomend a reasonably priced garden centre to get my plants from please?