Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

P/Q CIMA student currently in Oz on WHV wanting to stay...Help needed please!

P/Q CIMA student currently in Oz on WHV wanting to stay...Help needed please!

Old Apr 13th 2009, 1:31 pm
Just Joined

RaySheep is an unknown quantity at this point
Question P/Q CIMA student currently in Oz on WHV wanting to stay...Help needed please!

This is my first post on this forum, so - hello & hope you all had a great Easter!

I am a 26 year-old female from London England & have been in Oz since the end of December '08 on a working holiday visa. I was lucky enough to secure a six month contract in a Management Accounting department in Brisbane, which is due to expire at the end of July.

To cut a long story short, I have an Aussie boyfriend here now, absolutely love the place & do not want to go back to the UK - but as I am only P/Q, my options for remaining here long-term, are, I believe, somewhat limited!

I am currently considering the following:

1) Applying for a student visa to study CPA in Oz in 2010 - Is this possible? (I'm not sure as the CPA website seems to suggest that CPA is a distance learning qualification only, i.e. I wouldn't need to be in Oz to study it.)

2) Studying CIMA via distance learning on a student visa in 2010 - Again, I'm not sure if this is possible - I'd almost certainly be teaching myself via distance learning, as I don't believe there are any classroom-based tuition providers in Brisbane / anywhere other than Sydney.

3) Completing 3 month's seasonal work in a regional area when my current contract finishes at the end of July, so that I can apply for a 2nd working holiday visa.

4) Obtaining business sponsorship to remain in Oz on a 457 visa - Ideally I would like to stay in Brisbane but would consider sponsorship elsewhere if necessary.

5) Marrying a farmer / cowboy...! (Joke )