Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

changing sectors - impact on working abroad chanses

changing sectors - impact on working abroad chanses

Old Mar 17th 2006, 9:39 am
explorer

Cookie095 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default changing sectors - impact on working abroad chanses

Hello friends!

In the medium term I would like to leave UK for some time (may be permanently, not sure yet). But I think it will only happen in a 1 year time.

Meanwhile, I have a tempting job offer from independent UK trust (non-for profit organization, registered charity), which owes and manages about 50 private hospitals in Uk and Scotland, half a billion GBP turnover. Job pays noticably better than my current one, offers career prigression, good package overall, no travelling time to work (7 mins walk from my house). Job - to be part of a small team introducing activity based costing system across the group, assist in pricing, etc.

At the moment I am in a multinational engineering company servicing oil and gas industry with offices worldwide (project accounting, bits of management accounting, hyperion consolidations).
But I am not very happy about my job, no job satisfaction, not great management, lower than industry average pay, I am not happy. As for moving - it is good for engineeres but accounting staff do not get transferes.
I am not really keen on staying there for another 1-1.5 years before I go abroad

But my worry is the move to non-for profit sector. This health services sector is not that sexy, prestigious, dynamic. Is it going to reduce my marketability? Will the work in this sector reduce my chances of getting back into commerce later (not only in Uk but also abroad)? How work in such a sector will affect my chances of finding accounting job in countries like Aus, NZ?