Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession > Accountants
Reload this Page >

Accounting Systems used in Australia ?

Accounting Systems used in Australia ?

Old Jul 29th 2009, 8:38 pm
Forum Regular

AlanEll is a jewel in the roughAlanEll is a jewel in the roughAlanEll is a jewel in the roughAlanEll is a jewel in the rough
Default Accounting Systems used in Australia ?

I am a qualified CIMA member with 15 years experience, who intends to emigrate to Australia early 2010.

It has been a long time that I have had a job where I had to use accounting systems on a day to day basis, so feel a bit out of touch. To ensure that I am fully equipped to enter the Australian Jobs market as a management accountant, I want to know more about the financial systems used:-

Can I get advice on
1) most commonly used financial systems within large companies in Oz

2) how can I familairise myself with systems BEFORE I go across

I know that I need to ensure my CV is as robust as possible before I go across, and thanks to advice on previous threads, will obtain my automatic CPA membership before I emigrate.
Old Jul 30th 2009, 2:01 am
BE Forum Addict

ozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond reputeozhappy981 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Accounting Systems used in Australia ?

I'd say it is no different than the UK: You need to know Oracle and Excel (I am not talking about your garden variety Excel that everyone has on their home computer, but also the "special" business versions that Excel do, e.g. for forecasting.)