move to usa unemployed?

Old Feb 5th 2009, 9:59 am
Just Joined

jiirtih is an unknown quantity at this point
Default move to usa unemployed?

Hi there,

Apologies if these issues have been covered before, I'm new to the forum.

I'll give you the whole story so you can (hopefully!) give me more accurate advice.

I'm a 22 year old British male, I graduated from uni last year. Since then I've been working boring admin/office jobs, not what I went to uni for (I did PR/Journalism), but in the current climate we can't be too choosy can we!

Anyway, I was recently let go at the end of my temporary contract. Since then, I've been struggling to find any work in the UK.

I'm thinking of moving to the USA. California, in particular. I've visited a few times and love it. I also have some american friends from uni who live there.

I have enough saved to lived for around 3 months with no work. However, I am prepared to take pretty much any job there initially. Dish washing, bar work, valet, whatever.

I feel that I would stand more chance of getting a decent job in what I want to do if I was there to meet people face-to-face. However, pretty much everything i've read about visas says that you need a job before you can go. Or you need to be a full time student to get a J-1. Obviously, I'm graduated now.

Can anyone who has heard of/been in this situation offer any guidance?

Much appreciated.

Jiirtih
Old Feb 5th 2009, 10:42 am
BE Enthusiast

pejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond reputepejpm1 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: move to usa unemployed?