Reload this Page >

Using a british TV in France

Using a british TV in France

Old Mar 9th 2005, 9:56 pm
Relocating to Orleans

exetertofrance is an unknown quantity at this point
Question Using a british TV in France

Hi

I have a Sony 28" Wega TV, I was wondering if anybody knows if it will work in France or if not, is it possible to convert the TV to receive French TV?

Thanks

Mark
Old Mar 14th 2005, 12:20 pm
Just Joined

chuba has a brilliant futurechuba has a brilliant futurechuba has a brilliant futurechuba has a brilliant futurechuba has a brilliant futurechuba has a brilliant future
Default Re: Using a british TV in France

Originally Posted by exetertofrance
Hi

I have a Sony 28" Wega TV, I was wondering if anybody knows if it will work in France or if not, is it possible to convert the TV to receive French TV?

Thanks

Mark
Well im not very technically minded Mark, but the voltage is different to what it is in the UK, and also ur TV must be able to decode 'SECAM'which is the standard in France. So if ur TV is compatible 240V (not sure if thats the voltage) and can receive SECAM it should work in France, if not just try selling it and buy one in France they r cheaper than in the UK
Old Mar 17th 2005, 3:09 pm
Forum Regular

javajive will become famous soon enoughjavajive will become famous soon enough

If it is a multistandard TV that supports SECAM you will be ok.

The voltage is not a problem. But you would need to change plugs.

HANDY TIP Buy/take some multiplug extension sockets. Then you only have to change one plug to have all your appliances worknig.
Old Mar 19th 2005, 8:33 am
Just Joined

David S is an unknown quantity at this point

Hi

Yes the last posting is correct. As long as the Sony TV is multi standard ie PAL/SECAM (and I cannot conceive that a Sony would not be) it will work in France. If you install UK satellite TV the TV will also automatically choose the correct format depending on whether you are watching French tv or the UK.