My dilemma...

Old Jan 9th 2006, 9:57 am
Just Joined

scizrboy is an unknown quantity at this point
Default My dilemma...

I'm a 14 year veteran stylist here in Los Angeles. I am a self employed "rental" stylist. For those unfamiliar, I pay a flat station rent per week. (Mine is $225) All products, tools and color is my responsibility. It provides great flexibily and a feeling of being you own boss. That said, with my full clientele I earn about 1200-1500 a week plus tips. A comfortable living. It is expensive to live here however. Fortunately the tax loop holes for an independent stylist works very well in my favor! ;-)

So. I am tired of living here in the US, especially LA, and have dreamed of living and working abroad. I found out about the MODL list for Australia some time ago and now sit here well into the immigration process. The TRA application came and went easily. My medical police check/clearance should be coming soon.

I've been doing more research and I am saddened, stressed, and worried about the news I am hearing of how much or little I should say stylists make in Australia. I have friends in Melbourne and had decided on living there.

Are the numbers I am hearing correct? $500-$600 a week. Is that before taxes? I know the cost of living is less than here in Los Angeles, but is that the reason they need stylists so bad because you can't make a good living doing hair?

I really long to live abroad in a city with great public trans (cause I hate to drive) and getting out of this plastic environment is something quite important to me.

I'm not sure what to do. Am I not appreciating what I have here? Is the trade off for living abroad worth the drop in income. I worries me to work equally hard for less than half the pay.....just to have the international experience..

Thanks for reading and any thoughts you feel like sharing...

-tom
Old Jan 12th 2006, 6:55 am
Forum Regular

lisaxxx will become famous soon enoughlisaxxx will become famous soon enough