Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession
Reload this Page >

Double taxation - how bad?

Double taxation - how bad?

Old Dec 15th 2004, 3:36 am
JAJ
Retired

JAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond reputeJAJ has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Double taxation - how bad?

Originally Posted by BlightyBoy
The grey area is that it is files sent over the internet! Is that counted as earned in the UK?
I believe there's a lot of case law over whether income is 'sourced' in the UK or not in specific instances.

Jeremy
Old Dec 15th 2004, 4:03 am
Bob
BE Site Lead

Bob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond reputeBob has a reputation beyond repute

The grey area is that it is files sent over the internet! Is that counted as earned in the UK?
Get an accountant
Old Dec 15th 2004, 8:25 am
Forum Regular

Stuart James will become famous soon enough

As I understand it, if you are living in another country but received money from the UK you have to pay tax on that income to the UK as well as pay tax in the country in which you live.
Is anyone doing this? What concessions are there for paying tax twice? How bad is it?