Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession
Reload this Page >

Do credentials transfer from USA to UK?

Do credentials transfer from USA to UK?

Old Nov 21st 2012, 10:47 pm
Just Joined

KayBay is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Do credentials transfer from USA to UK?

I've just finished my 1500hr course in cosmetology in North Carolina, USA - still have to do the practical state board exam on December 4th. I'm thinking about moving back to the UK where I lived until 7 years ago. I've got a few questions.

1. Can I start work if I'm licensed in the USA or do I have to start studying all over again?

2. Is there something akin to the state board of cosmetology in the UK? I've tried searching the internet but haven't had much luck finding anything useful.

3. How does hairdressing work in the UK? In the states we could get paid hourly as an employee (normally of a chain), work commission or rent a booth in an independant salon.

4. Do you have required education classes you need to keep attending in order to keep working?

5. Do you have beauty supply stores that you can get professional discounts on?

Thanks in advance.
Old Jan 14th 2013, 1:05 am
Forum Regular

NicolaNick is a jewel in the roughNicolaNick is a jewel in the roughNicolaNick is a jewel in the roughNicolaNick is a jewel in the rough
Default Re: Do credentials transfer from USA to UK?

Hi Kay,
Did you ever get anywhere with your research on this? I am rethinking my whole life (much older than you though!). I would like to train as a hairdresser or something else I would enjoy, but I can't find out anything about transferring credentials either.
Best,
Nick
Old Mar 4th 2013, 5:14 pm
Forum Regular

ohwottodo is an unknown quantity at this point

I hope you get an answer as i am wanting to find out exactly the same (my son is in US college in FL doing cosmetology and we are moving back to the UK )
I have emailed colleges and googled no end and can not find an answer..