Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession
Reload this Page >

Chef/Cook with no qualifications - Ok for Canada?

Chef/Cook with no qualifications - Ok for Canada?

Old Mar 15th 2010, 9:23 am
Just Joined

mattandjools is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Chef/Cook with no qualifications - Ok for Canada?

Hi Guys

I'm a chef working in Melbourne (as a "Cook") and I'm thinking about heading off to Vancouver or wherever will take me.

I've just done the test on the canadian government website which indicates I would be eligible for PR but my diploma is not in anything culinary (I was a desk jockey who saw the light and decided it was time to do some hard work )

I've trained my arse off in hands-on roles and worked my way up quickly, I have fantastic references at my disposal and I like to think a trial shift pretty much anywhere would get me a job. Not to blow my own trumpet, but there's good chefs and bad chefs and I know which camp I fall into.

I'm wondering whether any of you guys out there know of anyone who's been through this situation. Should I just go for PR and see what happens or head over there, see if I can get a couple of trials and see if I can get my foot in the door first before applying for a permanent thing?

Cheers guys, any advice greatly appreciated.

Manc Matty.

Last edited by mattandjools; Mar 15th 2010 at 9:30 am. Reason: mis-spelling (is mis-spelt hyphenated?)
Old Aug 24th 2010, 2:33 am
Forum Regular

quietgiroth is just really nicequietgiroth is just really nicequietgiroth is just really nicequietgiroth is just really nicequietgiroth is just really nicequietgiroth is just really nicequietgiroth is just really nicequietgiroth is just really nicequietgiroth is just really nicequietgiroth is just really nice
Default Re: Chef/Cook with no qualifications - Ok for Canada?