Go Back  British Expats > Working Abroad > Working Abroad by Profession
Reload this Page >

25 years experience but no formal qualifications - how to get a job in Oz?

25 years experience but no formal qualifications - how to get a job in Oz?

Old Jun 30th 2008, 12:41 pm
Forum Regular

garyjames is just really nicegaryjames is just really nicegaryjames is just really nicegaryjames is just really nicegaryjames is just really nicegaryjames is just really nicegaryjames is just really nicegaryjames is just really nicegaryjames is just really nice
Default 25 years experience but no formal qualifications - how to get a job in Oz?

Hi,

I guess a post of this type has already been posted, so sorry if I repeat someone else's post.

In brief, my wife has 25 years of work experience, working as a hairdresser.

She was initially trained for 6 years by her uncle, who is also a hairdresser.

And for the past 19 years she has worked in partnership with her uncle in the same business.

However, she doesnt have any formal qualifications.

How would she go about getting work in Oz?

Would she need to do a course, and if so, which one(s)?

And does every state have a registration/licensing requirement?

Of course, no doubt there are a few immigrant hairdressers working in Oz, who don't have any formal qualifications, but my wife would prefer to do everything in the legal way.

Any advice for my wife would be most appreciated.

Kind Regards,

Gary
Old Jun 30th 2008, 2:28 pm
BE Enthusiast

Mr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to beholdMr Anderson is a splendid one to behold