Reload this Page >

Seeking Citizenship Advice: Planning for Children

Seeking Citizenship Advice: Planning for Children

Old Jan 6th 2012, 7:42 am
Just Joined

Charlie_C is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Seeking Citizenship Advice: Planning for Children

Hi,

I am a permanent resident card holder, and have been living in the US for 3 years. I recently married a US citizen. I do not want to give up my UK citizenship. We want to keep as many doors open as possible for the future, for us and our children. I spoke to someone who was a similar situation to me, and when she moved back to Scotland, she has to obtain citizenship for her children. I've been reading and it looks like even if I fly to Scotland to have babies, they aren't automatically UK citizens because I haven't been permanently residing there for 3 consecutive years.

Is it easier to have kids here then apply for British by descent citizenship for them?

Also, if I get US citizenship, do I have to pay US taxes if I move back to Scotland later in life?
Old Jan 6th 2012, 7:44 am
Are we there yet?

Trixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond reputeTrixie_b has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Seeking Citizenship Advice: Planning for Children

Welcome to the forum, if you look around and use the search function you can usually find the answers you seek.
Old Jan 6th 2012, 7:47 am
Are we there yet?