Reload this Page >

My widow grandmother alone in Canada

My widow grandmother alone in Canada

Old Dec 8th 2016, 7:11 pm
Just Joined

ClaireRB is an unknown quantity at this point
Default My widow grandmother alone in Canada

Hi

This is my first time posting - not even sure I'm putting it up in right place! But here goes:

My grandparents moved to Canada 20+ years ago. My grandad is 91 and in hospital, dying. My 85 year old grandmother is in the house on her own. Vancouver Island, BC.

I live in the U.K., late 30's, Masters degree, one four year old son.

I have visited my grandparents a lot, very happy to immigrate immediately so my grandma will have us there.

I see that grandparents cannot sponsor their grandchildren. But it seems they CAN if they are alone in Canada with no relatives?

Is anyone familiar with the application process for this? My grandmother would need me or a lawyer to fill out all the forms. She loves Canada and does not want to leave her community, house etc. Brining her back to the UK is not an option.
Anyone able to shed some light on what to do next? I am travelling over to her and my grandad in the next few days.

Thanks,

Claire
Old Dec 8th 2016, 7:17 pm
Concierge

spouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond reputespouse of scouse has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: My widow grandmother alone in Canada

Originally Posted by ClaireRB
Hi

This is my first time posting - not even sure I'm putting it up in right place! But here goes: