British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Welcome Inn (https://britishexpats.com/forum/welcome-inn-145/)
-   -   Looking for a bit of guidance. (https://britishexpats.com/forum/welcome-inn-145/looking-bit-guidance-831285/)

WildfireV2 Apr 14th 2014 6:12 pm

Looking for a bit of guidance.

Hello all.

I am new in the forums as a member, however I have read various articles from here over the years, for various reasons, whether they be reassurance or what not.

Recently I have found myself completely disheartened & lacking all direction in my life with what seems a shattering end to aspirations I once had.

I graduated last summer with a 2:2 in Accounting, this wasn't through a lack of intellect, more so a lack of motivation due to two circumstances:

- I got accepted into CCSU for a year of study abroad, but when it came to the financing, because I have no contact with my mum, & my dad lives in spain, it took far too long with the whole processing of documents & I essentially missed my window at something I dreamed of.

- A relative (Grandfather) died going into my second year, the same time as I missed the opportunity for study abroad. Honestly my attendance that year was awful, 5% in some classes & I barely scraped through.

I live in a small town in the North west of the UK, about 30 minutes train journey from Manchester & after graduation, I just seemed to have little luck at getting job prospects, partly because I was applying to things beyond my CV, & some other reasons too.

I made a few big mistakes when I was late teens, (going to the wrong university on a course that was brand new, far away from home and living alone, and basically pissed it up the wall & quit at the end of the year, forcing me to come home & work as a lifeguard for 2 years & immediately sign up for University at Uclan in 2010.