British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   The Welcome Inn (https://britishexpats.com/forum/welcome-inn-145/)
-   -   Bulgaria - Your help please. (https://britishexpats.com/forum/welcome-inn-145/bulgaria-your-help-please-873119/)

Manofkent324 Feb 23rd 2016 3:01 am

Bulgaria - Your help please.

Hi. I am new to this site and this is my first attempt at blogging. If that is the correct term?
I am thinking about buying a property/small holding in Bulgaria and would be grateful for any advice.
I live in a rural part of England and would be looking for somewhere similar, outside of a town, but not too far from basic local shops. I am a keen course fisherman and a lake on the site would be ideal, or perhaps land where a lake could be dug, due to its location.
I have previously seen an advertisement by a British expat who rents out property you can buy, if you like it. Do you or anyone you know do this, as it seems a good idea?
Why is Bulgaria so cheap? Why do there seem to be so many properties that need renovation situated in rural areas?
Where has everyone gone? and why?
Where should I look and where should we stay clear of?
Sorry for all the questions and I look forward to any help or advice you can offer.
Kind regards,

bakedbean Feb 23rd 2016 7:58 am

Re: Bulgaria - Your help please.

Hello and welcome to the forum :wave:

We don't have a dedicated forum for Bulgaria but you may wish to re-post in the main section of the Europe sub-section. You can follow this link below.
Europe - British Expats

happy planning.

scot47 Feb 23rd 2016 8:07 am

I went to work in Bulgaria in 1991 and worked there until 1996. After that I kept my base in BG while working in the Middle East. I maintained my presence in BG until 2011 when I retired to Scotland. I am still connected to BG and have family there. I took the time to learn Bulgarian and that certainly made my life there easier.