Reload this Page >

Wow.....and we are just getting started

Wow.....and we are just getting started

Old Jul 28th 2002, 10:16 pm
teresa

Default Wow.....and we are just getting started

Good afternoon everyone,

Hope everyone is well and happy.
I am new to this and glad to know that there is a place like this where I can go with questions.
I just got engaged, my fiance lives in Canada (he has duel citizenship...swiss and canadian. Has lived in canada for the past 10 years and I live here in the states.
We would like to get married in the spring if not sooner. I want everything to go as smooth as possible, and don't want to make mistakes in regard to this process because it is stressful enough. So here are my questions.
1. Is the Petiion for Alien fiance different than the INS, and can you apply for both at the same time?
2. How long does this process take? And how much?
3. Also can he keep his duel citizenship and not become a US citizen, but work and live in the US?
4. Would hiring an Imigration Attourney be the best and quickest way to go?
Thank you so much and I look forward to hearing back from anyone.
Teresa

Old Jul 28th 2002, 10:31 pm
Forum Regular

Ptarmigan is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wow.....and we are just getting started

The petition for Alien fiance is form I129f and is submitted to the INS. Once it is approved he would have to go to the embassy in Canada and participate in an interview there.

He is then allowed to enter the US for the purposes of marriage and adjust status to lawful permenant resident. You could get married if he were just visiting, but the I129f allows him to apply to adjust status from within the United States. The visa he will be issued is called a K1 Visa.

Once you have married he can apply to adjust status. At the same time he files a request for an employment authourisation document. Once this is recieved he can work. When his status is adjusted he can remain permenantly in the USA and work indefinitely.