Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Work in Houston

Work in Houston

Old Jun 19th 2014, 2:00 pm
Just Joined

kakkaroto is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Work in Houston

Hi, I'm new to these forums and am looking for a bit of guidance, I am married to a USC and am looking into the possibility of relocation to the USA, I currently work as an ICT Engineer (Systems Admin and VMWare Engineer) in London making a little over £32k and I do not have a degree but do have some relevant certification (all USA based).

Now cut a long story short what I wanted to know is if $60-$65k would be a fair amount for someone working in my field?
And secondly would it be enough to support two people?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Last edited by kakkaroto; Jun 19th 2014 at 2:37 pm.
Old Jun 19th 2014, 8:27 pm
Lost in BE Cyberspace

Hotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond reputeHotscot has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Work in Houston

There are probably some mid western and southern towns where that amount of money would be survivable however generally it's extremely low for a professional. And because of other costs/taxes etc you generally struggle to get by.

Being poor in America is very tough. Very little safety net.
Old Jun 19th 2014, 10:23 pm
Bob
BE Site Lead