Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Will I need a job before I can join my partner?

Will I need a job before I can join my partner?

Old Apr 2nd 2008, 10:00 am
Just Joined

mark7144 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Will I need a job before I can join my partner?

I'm a real newbie with all this stuff so please forgive me. There's a very good chance that within the next few years my girlfriend will be asked to work abroad, one of those places could be Cincinnati.

My question is, if the company want to move her over there and I'm her partner (not married), will it be necessary for a company to sponsor me before I can go with her or are there any alternatives?

Last edited by mark7144; Apr 2nd 2008 at 10:07 am.
Old Apr 2nd 2008, 11:16 am

penguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond reputepenguinsix has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Will I need a job before I can join my partner?

Hi,

I don't think 'Partners' have any status with immigration types. Marriage is the best bet, otherwise you have to get your own visa somehow based on your job.

Check out the WIKI on ways to get a visa
Old Apr 2nd 2008, 1:12 pm
L2, GC, Surrey, OH, TX!

MsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond reputeMsElui has a reputation beyond repute