British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   What Are Our Options? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/what-our-options-717134/)

craig_sp May 15th 2011 7:21 pm

What Are Our Options?

Hi there. Posted this elsewhere, but it is relevant to this discussion. I hope all works out well for those seeking to make the move happen here. If I may I'd like to post my situaiton here, hope that does not cause a problem. It seems there are some really caring and knowing people posting here, so thanks for reading this!

I was just having a look at your website and thought I would get in touch. I just wanted to ask for a little advice to allow me to consider options.

I am British and still live in the UK. My career thus far has been as a Merchant Seafarer (Cargo & Cruise ships) where I met my girlfriend (US Citizen). I now work in the UK (North Sea) Oil industry, 2 weeks on, 2 weeks off. I just started this job and it is just for the summer. Currently I am spending my 2 weeks off in the US (NYC) visiting her. I worry that travelling to the US every 2 weeks under the VWP will cause trouble for me, so just wonder what my options are really. I would love to spend more time here once my work completes in August. I have acrued a reasonably substancial amount of savings and would be fine to take time out over here, but I know that working over here would be difficult, as would spending longer periods here.

Ideally, my girlfriend and I could spend some of our time in the UK and some in the US, but it would be nice to be able to rely on something more solid than the VWP, as it seems the officers can be quite moody... and I know they have the final say each time! Thankfully its always been a yes though.

Anyway, I know this is a wide-ranging mail, just thought I would ask your thoughts and take it from there.

Thanks you so much for your time everyone. :-)

ian-mstm May 15th 2011 9:59 pm