Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Wanting to move to California - what can I do there?

Wanting to move to California - what can I do there?

Old Aug 22nd 2020, 12:01 pm
Just Joined

KatSueKurry is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Wanting to move to California - what can I do there?

I’m a qualified barrister in England currently working as a lecturer. My practice consists mainly of family work and I lecture in civil, family and advocacy.

I have a masters and several years PQE.

I’m looking at eventually moving to California but unsure on what I can do out there.

I understand that I can take the California bar exams but it’s unclear how easy it would be to secure employment thereafter.

After looking at lecturer posts, it seems that my qualifications may allow me to apply but, again, it’s not clear if my experience would be relevant.

I have experience teaching in secondary schools also, this might be an option?

Are any of these professions likely to be more open to a UK applicant than others?

Is there a shortage of jobs for any of these professions?

Any advice would be welcomed.

Thank you
Old Aug 22nd 2020, 12:04 pm
Account Closed

scrubbedexpat099 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default Re: Wanting to move to California - what can I do there?

Fight fires?

Clean up poop from the streets?

Back to being serious on what basis can you move, are you a US Citizen, are you married to one, jobs hardly matter if you have no basis to move.
Old Aug 22nd 2020, 1:08 pm
Just Joined

Fire or poop - choices, choices

I would be hoping to get a temporary, and eventually permanent, work visa. I’m a UK citizen, no family in the US and no other basis to move there on.
Old Aug 22nd 2020, 2:11 pm
BE Irregular