British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Wanna go (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/wanna-go-187851/)

ducatiandy Oct 31st 2003 10:57 am

Wanna go

My wife and two young kids (4&5) want to move to California which is where my wife has an uncle/aunt and cousins etc. I am a Divison Manager for a large construction company in UK and trained as a Quantity Surveyor (for my sins). I was told that if I get a job offer I would get a visa, is this true?

Any other advice at all would be very helpfull!

Thanks!
:confused:

BrigieDarling Oct 31st 2003 12:37 pm

I think you'll have better luck finding the answer to this question, if you research the exptensive knowledge to be found in British Expats Imigration Forums

(Or as we'd say in Pompey... "Ave a gander in 'ere mate!")

Good luck and welcome to Britsh Expats.com

Manc Oct 31st 2003 1:27 pm

Re: Wanna go

Originally posted by ducatiandy
My wife and two young kids (4&5) want to move to California which is where my wife has an uncle/aunt and cousins etc. I am a Divison Manager for a large construction company in UK and trained as a Quantity Surveyor (for my sins).
When I was doing my HND (Have no degree) in construction, was told that they don't have QS's in the USA, don't know how true this is as I now work insurance, however I think you might wanna try a different avenue!

ducatiandy Oct 31st 2003 1:30 pm

Originally posted by manc1976
When I was doing my HND (Have no degree) in construction, was told that they don't have QS's in the USA, don't know how true this is as I now work insurance, however I think you might wanna try a different avenue!

Do you work over there now? If so how did you get in?

Manc Oct 31st 2003 1:35 pm

Met my wife online.

Was a high rise structural surveyor (steeplejack!) in England. Worked all over the place anyhow.

ducatiandy Oct 31st 2003 1:40 pm

Originally posted by manc1976
Met my wife online.