Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

W-8BEN Formfrom bank

W-8BEN Formfrom bank

Old Jan 13th 2019, 10:31 pm
Ongoing K1 Visa

Trilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond reputeTrilo has a reputation beyond repute
Default W-8BEN Formfrom bank

I was wondering if anyone could shed a little light on this for me? I'm new to all this so was wondering if anyone has had a similar experience and any help or advice would be great.

I opened a bank account on the 10th December 2018 and I recently had a letter from them asking...

"Please provide evidence you are a citizen or national of a foreign country to avoid U.S. tax withholding." ... adding that they will "continue to apply U.S. tax withholding at a rate of 28% to all interest credited on your account(s)" until they receive the required information.

...and they have attached the Form W-8BEN with it to be filled out. Also on said form how would I fill line 10? It asks for "The beneficial owner is claiming the provisions of Article ____ of the treaty identified on line 9 above to claim a ____ % rate of withholding on (specify type of income): ____." Can I just leave this blank?

The bank has also asked me too... "Please provide the following: A copy of a government-issued document, such as a passport, showing you're a citizen or national of a country other than the U.S, and, showing a permanent address outside of the U.S."