British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   Voluntary Redundancy - should I take it ??? (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/voluntary-redundancy-should-i-take-350540/)

BigDavyG Jan 24th 2006 8:25 pm

Voluntary Redundancy - should I take it ???

I've only been in my job for 5 months but they are now offering voluntary redundancies which would be worth 4 months salary to me.
I work in IT/insurance, have only been in the US for 6 months and had this job lined up before I came out - my question is if I take the money and run will I struggle to get work elsewhere based on my limited time in the US - I've heard of other posters' job hunting hassles and it puts me off a bit.

Anyway, opinions welcome :)

cutina Jan 24th 2006 8:27 pm

Re: Voluntary Redundancy - should I take it ???

Originally Posted by BigDavyG
I've only been in my job for 5 months but they are now offering voluntary redundancies which would be worth 4 months salary to me.
I work in IT/insurance, have only been in the US for 6 months and had this job lined up before I came out - my question is if I take the money and run will I struggle to get work elsewhere based on my limited time in the US - I've heard of other posters' job hunting hassles and it puts me off a bit.

does your visa allow you to change jobs? i think mine is only for the job i came here for but i'm really ignorant about this stuff

:rolleyes: big help i am!

BigDavyG Jan 24th 2006 8:28 pm

Originally Posted by cutina
does your visa allow you to change jobs? i think mine is only for the job i came here for but i'm really ignorant about this stuff

:rolleyes: big help i am!

Yep - i got a green card through the lottery :)

cutina Jan 24th 2006 8:31 pm

~

ok... now it makes sense... i didn't realise UK citizens were eligible for that?
4 months pay isn't bad...
why are they making redundancies? would it be dodgy for you to stay around?