Reload this Page >

Visa to work in Houston

Visa to work in Houston

Old May 14th 2012, 3:17 pm
Just Joined

DoubleDD is an unknown quantity at this point
Smile Visa to work in Houston

Hi there- or should I say howdy?

First of all, thanks very much to anyone who helps me out here- I really appreciate it. I have spent hours on visa websites until my eyes bleed!

I am looking to come across and work in Houston. I have had several interviews with various employers who offer to bring me across on a permanent visa- social security number etc.

I am looking to work in the area for 2-3 years minimum, but depending on how it goes I may well consider staying- I have travelled the US before, although admittedly not texas, for 6 months and absolutely love the place.

I am a young professional, 23 years old, and as such would probably look to live in midtown as I hear this is the place to be? Suggestions welcome!

I just have a few questions:

1) What type of visa is it that I will likely be on? I think its an E-1? How long would i have to stay/ what would i have to do to gain nationality/permanent residency? My understanding is that if i leave my job, I have to leave the country as the visa is tied to my employer, whilst I cannot see myself leaving them for at least 2 years, I would be interested to know what other options I have for the future.

2) I have a girlfriend who I would like to come with me. I have been told that whilst my employer can get me a visa, they can only get one for her which would mean she cannot work- basically a no go as she would drive herself, and then me, mad. What options does she have here? Can she come over on a VWP and then job hunt? Or does she have to secure a job first like I have?

2) What does this visa entitle me to? Obviously guessing cannot vote, but can I own/shoot a gun?

Realise I have written an essay here, so sorry for the eye strain, any help you can give me would be amazing.

Thanks
Old May 14th 2012, 3:49 pm
Account Closed