Go Back  British Expats > Living & Moving Abroad > USA
Reload this Page >

Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Old Jun 24th 2010, 12:46 am
  #1  
Thread Starter
 
Joined: Feb 2002
Posts: 6,843
Englishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond reputeEnglishmum has a reputation beyond repute
Red face Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Glad I wasn't on that flight.....

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/worl...mac-hours.html
Englishmum is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 1:07 am
  #2  
Septic Sprout
 
tonrob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 7,990
tonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by Englishmum View Post
That's my local airport. Would've popped down with a bag of sprouts if I'd known.
tonrob is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 2:32 am
  #3  
BE Forum Addict
 
Brit3964's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,068
Brit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

I'm a bit puzzled why they didn't just hook up a GPU to power the airplane systems while on the ground? That would have given them a/c. Maybe they charged too much for one?
Brit3964 is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 3:25 am
  #4  
BE Forum Addict
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: Midlands - MA - CO-CA
Posts: 2,491
joto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond reputejoto has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Why didn't they land at Logan airport in Boston. It's not too far away?
joto is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 10:57 am
  #5  
Septic Sprout
 
tonrob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 7,990
tonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by joto View Post
Why didn't they land at Logan airport in Boston. It's not too far away?
Maybe if the weather was a bit shit there too then their capacity might be down. Logan's a very busy airport. Bradley's big enough for a big plane (runway-wise) but also has much less traffic overall.
tonrob is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 7:27 pm
  #6  
BE Enthusiast
 
AlienUk's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 483
AlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of lightAlienUk is a glorious beacon of light
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by tonrob View Post
That's my local airport. Would've popped down with a bag of sprouts if I'd known.
pure evil....
AlienUk is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 8:18 pm
  #7  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 436
Zonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by Brit3964 View Post
I'm a bit puzzled why they didn't just hook up a GPU to power the airplane systems while on the ground? That would have given them a/c. Maybe they charged too much for one?
A GPU only provides electrical power. The A340 a/c runs off bleed air from an engine or the APU. I suspect the front end had departed and gone to Operations whilst all this was going on, leaving no one qualified to run the APU.

Last edited by Zonie; Jun 24th 2010 at 9:02 pm.
Zonie is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 9:22 pm
  #8  
Septic Sprout
 
tonrob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 7,990
tonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by AlienUk View Post
pure evil....
No - I wouldn't have just shown them to them - I'd have thrown them a couple!
tonrob is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 10:19 pm
  #9  
BE Forum Addict
 
Brit3964's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,068
Brit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by Zonie View Post
A GPU only provides electrical power. The A340 a/c runs off bleed air from an engine or the APU. I suspect the front end had departed and gone to Operations whilst all this was going on, leaving no one qualified to run the APU.
Maybe? The article mentioned they had problems with the generators going offline. If they had a GPU, they might have been able to run one engine which would have given them a/c? I'll guess either they had no compatible GPU or it was too expensive.

Assuming that each engine has one generator, that would mean all 4 generators failing at once. Pretty unlikely. Probably more likely the generator control bus failed. Maybe the CB kept popping? It happens.

Why didn't they land at Logan airport in Boston. It's not too far away?
Probably because of crew time limitations. They wanted to be somewhere they could get out quick if the weather came up in EWR.
Brit3964 is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 10:47 pm
  #10  
Lost in BE Cyberspace
 
Jsmth321's Avatar
 
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 24,227
Jsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond reputeJsmth321 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by Zonie View Post
A GPU only provides electrical power. The A340 a/c runs off bleed air from an engine or the APU. I suspect the front end had departed and gone to Operations whilst all this was going on, leaving no one qualified to run the APU.
From the reports I have read, the entire crew was on the plane as well.

I think the biggest issue with keeping everyone on the plane was the need to have customs there before you could deplane, at Bradley they apparently get off work at 5pm, and although officers were called in, it was until a little after Midnight that customs began to process the flight.

http://travel.usatoday.com/flights/p...hours-/97667/1
Jsmth321 is offline  
Old Jun 24th 2010, 11:58 pm
  #11  
Septic Sprout
 
tonrob's Avatar
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Location: Singapore
Posts: 7,990
tonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond reputetonrob has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by Jsmth321 View Post
From the reports I have read, the entire crew was on the plane as well.

I think the biggest issue with keeping everyone on the plane was the need to have customs there before you could deplane, at Bradley they apparently get off work at 5pm, and although officers were called in, it was until a little after Midnight that customs began to process the flight.

http://travel.usatoday.com/flights/p...hours-/97667/1
To my knowledge Bradley has no immigration staff (or, to be more accurate, I don't believe Bradley is served by any incoming flights that require immigration staff).
tonrob is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2010, 12:04 am
  #12  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 436
Zonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond reputeZonie has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by Brit3964 View Post
Maybe? The article mentioned they had problems with the generators going offline. If they had a GPU, they might have been able to run one engine which would have given them a/c? I'll guess either they had no compatible GPU or it was too expensive.
You don’t need a GPU to start the engines. The starter motors for the engines are air driven, powered by bleed air from the APU or via the bleed air system. The APU can be started from the aircraft batteries. The APU also has a generator.

Originally Posted by Brit3964 View Post
Assuming that each engine has one generator, that would mean all 4 generators failing at once. Pretty unlikely. Probably more likely the generator control bus failed. Maybe the CB kept popping? It happens.
Each engine driven generator has independent control (therefore it's own CB protection) and supplies its own associated AC BUS. Each engine can individually provide bleed air which is required to run the a/c packs, as can the APU.


Originally Posted by Jsmth321 View Post
From the reports I have read, the entire crew was on the plane as well.

I think the biggest issue with keeping everyone on the plane was the need to have customs there before you could deplane, at Bradley they apparently get off work at 5pm, and although officers were called in, it was until a little after Midnight that customs began to process the flight.

http://travel.usatoday.com/flights/p...hours-/97667/1
I was referring to the absence of the flight deck crew. If they were on board they weren’t doing a very good job of looking after the environmental systems. Then again maybe they were told to shut down all engines by Ground?

Anyway it looks like Virgin is up for a fine. I wouldn’t like to be in the Captains shoes, something went wrong.

http://travel.usatoday.com/flights/p...-delay/97818/1

Last edited by Zonie; Jun 25th 2010 at 12:29 am.
Zonie is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2010, 1:17 am
  #13  
BE Forum Addict
 
Brit3964's Avatar
 
Joined: Feb 2004
Location: South Florida
Posts: 2,068
Brit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond reputeBrit3964 has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Originally Posted by Zonie View Post
You don’t need a GPU to start the engines. The starter motors for the engines are air driven, powered by bleed air from the APU or via the bleed air system. The APU can be started from the aircraft batteries. The APU also has a generator.

Each engine driven generator has independent control (therefore it's own CB protection) and supplies its own associated AC BUS. Each engine can individually provide bleed air which is required to run the a/c packs, as can the APU.
I'd agree which makes the story of the generator failure very unlikely. I suspect there could be at least one or maybe two pilot job openings going at Virgin Atlantic very soon.
Brit3964 is offline  
Old Jun 25th 2010, 3:46 am
  #14  
@matthewb76
 
Manc's Avatar
 
Joined: Jul 2003
Location: Missouri
Posts: 21,886
Manc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond reputeManc has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

Why would you plan an ALT airport for landing without customs or immigration acceptance for an international flight?

surely as someone said, Logan or Philly, BWI, Dulles were more acceptable alternatives?
Manc is offline  
Old Jun 27th 2010, 6:30 pm
  #15  
BE Enthusiast
 
Joined: Aug 2009
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 504
Ginblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond reputeGinblossom has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: Virgin Flight Stuck at US Airport for Hours

VA are fast becoming the Ryanair of transatlantic traffic.

I say this with authority after the volcanic ash nightmare endured.

One of their crew told me recently that they don't care about their US routes now, they are more interested in opening new routes to the Middle East and Africa....
Ginblossom is offline  

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.