Reload this Page >

USC spouse: AOS and Extension of Stay

USC spouse: AOS and Extension of Stay

Old Oct 11th 2002, 4:59 am
Just Joined

matt_b662 is an unknown quantity at this point
Default USC spouse: AOS and Extension of Stay

Dear immigration gurus,

I'm a permanent resident and I'm applying for US citizenship. I already got fingerprinted a couple of weeks
ago, and I expect to be interviewed between January 30th and February 28th, 2003. I didn't get the official appointment letter from INS yet, but I was told that the average time between filling and swearing in is about 180 days, so I did the math. I took in account also two extra weeks and I'm hoping that if everything goes well, by the end of February I'll be naturalized US citizen.

Now the tricky part: I'm married to a woman who doesn't have a green card. Luckily for us, she got a 10-year-multiple-entry visa a couple of years ago, long before me met and got married. She never intended to use it, until this summer. Since we got married half a year ago, I guess the reason for her visit here is self-explanatory. So she joined me three months ago and at the time of entry she got 6-month visa (on the I-94) which expires on January 1st. As I said, she has never been here before, so that might be one of the reasons why she was allowed to stay here for up to 6 months.

Anyway, as soon as I become US citizen, I would like to file for AOS for her, but as you noticed, her visa expires two months earlier - so we're two months short. And here's our dilemma: whether she should leave the US around December, before the date on her I-94 and come back once again as a tourist after 2-3 months or should she rather stay here?

I'm assuming that filing AOS while she's legally here is probably the fastest way to get her a green card. Now,
the pros and cons I can think of:

In case of first option (leaving in December), she may not be allowed to entry the US 2-3 months after leaving