Reload this Page >

US Tax Returns!

US Tax Returns!

Old Nov 21st 2007, 11:28 pm
Just Joined

jonball is an unknown quantity at this point
Default US Tax Returns!

Hello all!
Lucky me, I have recently discovered that as an American citizen (purely passport from birth, not lived there for nearly 20 years) that I should have been filing my tax returns, I have only been in employment for the just under 3 years and understand that I must file taxes for my past 3 years work here in the UK, I have had a look and understand that i need to fill out forms 1040 and 2555, it is slightly more complicated as I have been self-employed since April of this year. Luckily as a contractor I have only received a salary, no pension and I have all my payslips and P60s. Does anyone know how straight forward this would be to fill out? I am moving to America in December and am thinking it may be easier to get an accountant but if it is possible to complete this myself it could save a small fortune! any ideas??
Old Nov 22nd 2007, 12:13 am

meauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond reputemeauxna has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US Tax Returns!

Your lovely local IRS is said to be *very* helpful to those in the same situation: http://london.usembassy.gov/irs/irsfaq.htm

You should be able to do it accountant-free.
Old Nov 22nd 2007, 1:37 am