Reload this Page >

US tax return - married filing jointly and UK non resident spouse

US tax return - married filing jointly and UK non resident spouse

Old Mar 29th 2012, 10:41 pm
Just Joined

Rooferdoofer is an unknown quantity at this point
Default US tax return - married filing jointly and UK non resident spouse

Hi All,

I hope one of you are familiar with this situation and able to shed some light for me.

I am a US permanent resident (UK citizen) married to a UK citizen who I am petitioning to become a PR also, her priority date should be current in the next 6 months. I operate a US company.

I wish to file my US tax return as 'married filing jointly' to take advantage of the deduction this provides. In doing so I will have to declare my wifes worldwide income and this would be subject to US taxation.

1. My wife pays UK tax via the PAYE system in the UK, would she then have to pay US tax on this income despite already having paid UK tax? She earns approx £30k p/a

2. Are there any taxation treaties preventing double taxation for my wife in this situation?

Any assistance or guidance would be much appreciated.

Thanks!
Old Mar 29th 2012, 11:56 pm
Account Closed

ian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond reputeian-mstm has a reputation beyond repute
Default Re: US tax return - married filing jointly and UK non resident spouse

Originally Posted by Rooferdoofer View Post
I wish to file my US tax return as 'married filing jointly' to take advantage of the deduction this provides. In doing so I will have to declare my wifes worldwide income and this would be subject to US taxation.