British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   US Tax Implications for UK Inheritance (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/us-tax-implications-uk-inheritance-802432/)

corneydavid Jul 10th 2013 1:45 am

US Tax Implications for UK Inheritance

Sorry if this is posted in the wrong forum and if this question is answered elsewhere.

I am a US permanent resident with UK citizenship. My Mother, who lived in the UK, died in February and I inherited her estate. If I were in the UK I would not be liable for inheritance tax, as the value of the estate is below the threshold.

My question, as a UK citizen in the US do I fall under the same inheritance rules as a US citizen, or am I liable for taxes due to my statues? Do bear in mind that if I were to die, my wife would be liable for taxes on my estate as I am not a US citizen; hence the reason for my question.

Thanks for reading.

Michael Jul 10th 2013 2:02 am

Re: US Tax Implications for UK Inheritance

Originally Posted by corneydavid (Post 10792159)
Sorry if this is posted in the wrong forum and if this question is answered elsewhere.

I am a US permanent resident with UK citizenship. My Mother, who lived in the UK, died in February and I inherited her estate. If I were in the UK I would not be liable for inheritance tax, as the value of the estate is below the threshold.

My question, as a UK citizen in the US do I fall under the same inheritance rules as a US citizen, or am I liable for taxes due to my statues? Do bear in mind that if I were to die, my wife would be liable for taxes on my estate as I am not a US citizen; hence the reason for my question.

Thanks for reading.

Since there is no federal inheritance tax and only estate tax, the US government cannot tax a non resident alien's foreign estate and you are not taxed on any money received on inheritance. However a few states have inheritance tax.