British Expats

British Expats (https://britishexpats.com/forum/)
-   USA (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/)
-   -   us postal help (https://britishexpats.com/forum/usa-57/us-postal-help-724238/)

redarmy990 Jul 9th 2011 5:07 pm

us postal help

hi guys hope you can help

im a carpenter and thinking of ordering a cordless battery drill from the us having it delivered to my us fiancee and then have her post it tome

or she will pick it up and then post it on

my question is is this allowed and to avoid paying excise duty on it if she writes on the package present will this help

the drills are 3 times cheaper in the us than here

thanks

BellaE Jul 9th 2011 5:35 pm

Re: us postal help

Well, if you do things legally, she will still have to put the correct value on the customs declaration -- I don't think it matters if it is a present or not.

fatbrit Jul 9th 2011 5:46 pm

Originally Posted by redarmy990 (Post 9485271)
ordering a cordless battery drill from the us

Make sure the charger will work on 220V/50Hz.

AmerLisa Jul 9th 2011 6:30 pm

I mailed my daughter a brand new dress a few months back (this isn't the first time I've mailed new things, I mailed a big box of new things this past Christmas.) and she ended up paying at her end. The only thing I did differently this time was that I had it insured for about $300. It was marked as a gift, so I'm wondering if insuring it made the difference...:unsure:

sir_eccles Jul 9th 2011 7:06 pm

Originally Posted by BellaE (Post 9485293)
Well, if you do things legally, she will still have to put the correct value on the customs declaration -- I don't think it matters if it is a present or not.

It might be a very cheap drill.

AdobePinon Jul 9th 2011 8:18 pm

Originally Posted by sir_eccles (Post 9485397)
It might be a very cheap drill.

And it might be very crap too. Hopefully the OP has done enough research.

joto Jul 9th 2011 8:20 pm

Originally Posted by AmerLisa (Post 9485349)